Primark store manager becomes chair of Harrogate BID
Mar 25, 2024

Andrea Thornborrow has succeeded Dan Siddle as chair of Harrogate Business Improvement District.

Harrogate BID, which encourages people to visit the town centre, announced the move as part of a series of changes to its board in a press release today.

Ms Thornborrow, who was previously vice-chair, is store manager of Primark in Harrogate.

The press release said Mr Siddle, the general manager of the Crown Hotel who was appointed Harrogate BID chair in January last year, had stood down due to work commitments.

Ms Thornborrow said:

“Harrogate BID has gone from strength to strength and is making a positive difference to the town centre.

“As a long-standing BID member, I am looking forward to taking on the role of chair and building on the success we have made.”

Sara Ferguson, a director of Caffé Marconi and Lyndsay Snodgrass, marketing manager at estate agents Verity Frearson, have become joint vice-chairs.

Ms Ferguson, a former chair of Harrogate BID, said:

“I am very much looking forward to working with Andrea, Lyndsay and the brilliant BID team to continue the great work they are doing for Harrogate town centre.”

Ms Snodgrass said:

“This is a really exciting time as we enter our second term and I look forward to working with Andrea and Sara to support Matthew and the rest of the BID team to develop and build on the success of term one.”

The Harrogate BID board has seen several departures and new appointments.

Sue Kramer, co-owner of Crown Jewellers of Harrogate, James White, centre manager at the Victoria Shopping Centre, Simon Midgley, owner of Starling Café, Neil Mendoza, general manager at the Studley Hotel and Julian Rudd, head of regeneration at the newly formed North Yorkshire Council, have joined the BID board as directors.

Harrogate BID is funded by town centre businesses to encourage more people to visit.

It launched in 2019 and started its second five-year term in January this year after businesses voted to continue to support it.

Picture: New chair Andrea Thornborrow (centre) with joint vice-chairs Sara Ferguson (left) and Lyndsay Snodgrass.

Read more:

Follow us on

The Stray Ferret Feed