World Cup hero Rachel Daly in line for player of year award
Last updated Aug 16, 2023
Rachel Daly, at the centre of England's celebrations today.

Rachel Daly probably thought her day could not get any better when she helped England reach the final of the Women’s World Cup.

But the Harrogate hotshot has also been nominated for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.

Daly, 31, is one of six nominees for the award, which is voted for by other players.

She won the Golden Boot for finishing as the leading scorer in the Women’s Super League, netting 22 times for Aston Villa Women after signing from Houston Dash last summer.

Daly, who has 381,000 followers on Instagram, is up against:

Ona Batlle – Manchester United

Sam Kerr – Chelsea

Frida Maanum – Arsenal

Guro Reiten – Chelsea

Khadija Shaw – Manchester City

The winner will be announced at 50th PFA awards ceremony on August 29.

In the meantime, Daly has the small matter of a World Cup final against Spain to look forward to at 11am on Sunday after helping the Lionesses defeat hosts Australia in today’s semi-final.

Read more: